Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Need help with VueMinder Pro or Ultimate? Ask your questions here.
Nigel
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:31 am

Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Post by Nigel » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:53 am

Here is a sequence that creates an erroneous message:
- Open an event that contains a reminder.
- Click on the reminder tab.
- Click the "Show Preview" button.
- Click "Close Preview" in the preview window.
- "Close" the event without making a change.

It now asks if you want to save the changes. I did not make any changes.

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3851
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Post by VueSoft » Tue Feb 11, 2014 5:31 pm

Hi Nigel, thank you for the feedback. I've tried this sequence on several events but I haven't been able to duplicate the problem. I'm not sure what is causing the behavior you're seeing. Does it happen for every event? Is your calendar shared or synced with something else?
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Nigel
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:31 am

Re: Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Post by Nigel » Tue Feb 11, 2014 6:05 pm

Hi Dan,
I did some further checking and I found that this only happens to events with previously "dismissed" reminders.

I also noticed that when I press the "Show Preview" button, the "Show popup reminder" checkbox gets re-checked (activated). I guess this is the change that has occurred.

The question is: Should this happen?
In my opinion, the "preview" should not create a "change".

Regards,
Nigel.

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3851
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Post by VueSoft » Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:38 pm

Hi Nigel, thank you for the information. The way the code is currently written, the reminder is re-enabled when previewed, so the user won't need to remember to re-enable the reminder before closing the editor. It could cause confusion if the reminder can be previewed but then never actually appears because the user didn't realize the reminder needed to be re-enabled.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Nigel
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:31 am

Re: Erroneous Event Editor "... save changes?" message

Post by Nigel » Tue Feb 11, 2014 10:18 pm

Hi Dan,
I understand your reasoning, and it makes perfect sense.
I can only tell your that from my perspective, as a user, my natural tendency is to never "save" unless I know what I am saving. In this case, I did not know that the reminder was implicitly re-enabled, so I replied "no". Thus, in the end, the reminder did not get re-enabled, and it would never actually appear.

It would be nice if there was some sort of notification letting the user know what is happening here, so he/she can make a knowledgeable/intelligent decision to save or not to save.

In any case, this is a very minor issue, and is not worth spending a lot of time on.
Now I understand the product a little better, and this is not a problem for me. So I will consider this issue resolved (fixed by "education").

Regards,
Nigel.

Post Reply