"Modified" data files

Need help with VueMinder Pro or Ultimate? Ask your questions here.
Zebo777
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:06 pm

"Modified" data files

Post by Zebo777 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:14 am

I am trying to set up VueMinder to synchronize between two machines, and I don't want to create a VueServer.

So, I pointed VueMinder's event data and backup to a VueMinder folder in my Dropbox. This method is working just fine in several applications. I don't run these applications concurrently.

None of these applications "modify" their data files, unless data has actually been altered.

This is not the case with VueMinder. When I open, touch nothing, and close VueMinder, almost all the data files are flagged as "modified" thus triggering Dropbox to synchronize. No data changed.

Is all this necessary? I wish that you only "modify" files with actual altered data.

Comments?

User avatar
VueSoft
Dan Chartrand
Posts: 3874
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:39 am
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: "Modified" data files

Post by VueSoft » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:09 am

Hi Zebo777, thank you for the feedback. I'll fix this so files are only written if the data has changed. Currently, when VueMinder is closed, all data files are saved to ensure nothing is lost.
Dan Chartrand, Founder
VueSoft LLC | St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Post Reply